How to Report Child Abuse:
Abuse is the non-accidental injury of a child. It includes physical abuse, sexual abuse, emotional abuse, exploitation and neglect. Any concerned person can report known or suspected child abuse or neglect. Reports can be made 24 hours per day, 7 days per week by calling (530) 273-4291 or (888) 456-9380.
Please have as much information available regarding the child and family as possible. Names, addresses, ages, schools attended and other identifying information ensure that Nevada County CPS staff may make contact with the family if appropriate.
The reporter's identity is confidential, but it is helpful to give your name so Child Protective Services (CPS) can make follow-up contact with the reporter if necessary. The reporter is free from civil or criminal liability for reports of suspected child abuse or neglect made in good faith.
If you are unsure about whether or not to report, simply call the child abuse hotline and discuss the situation.
Mandated Reporter Information:
Certain professionals, including, doctors, therapists, teachers and others are mandated to report abuse and neglect observed in the course of their work and must include their name. The Child Abuse and Reporting Act, or Penal Code Section 11165.7, includes a list of all mandated reporters and requirements. Mandated reporter information is also kept confidential.
Mandated reporters must also send a written report within 36 hours of the telephonic report. The written report must be on the State of California's Suspected Child Abuse Report Form
Submit the Suspected Child Abuse Report via one of the two following ways:
If you'd like information on mandated reporter trainings, please call our mainline at (530) 273-4291.