Death Certificate

Executive Order by Gov. Brown if you are a victim of the current fires you get your Vital Records a No Fee.

Nevada County Recorder maintains the death records for those death that occurred Nevada County.

Who May Receive a Copy

California Health and Safety Code Section 103526, permits only authorized persons as defined on the Online Application to receive certified copies for Identification purposes of birth and/or death records. Senate Bill 1614, Chapter 712 passed, which prohibits the display of vital records indexes on the Internet.

Those who are not authorized by law may receive a certified copy with the words "Informational, Not a Valid Document to Establish Identity'.

Order a Certified Copy of a Vital Record

There are four methods to order a copy of a vital record filed in Nevada County, California:  

  1. Requests made in person at Nevada County Recorder's Office are completed while you wait.
  2. Mail the completed and notarized Application Form (PDF)  along with a check or money order, made payable to Nevada County Recorder:
    Nevada County Recorder
    950 Maidu Avenue
    Nevada City, California 95959
  3. Order the copy using your credit card by faxing the completed and notarized Application Form (PDF)(s) to 530-265-9842. Then call 530-265-1221 to provide credit card information. Additional $2.45 credit card fee
  4. Order online through VitalChek.
    There is an additional $7 VitalChek fee for VitalChek orders.

Fees

  • Death Record $21 per certified copy
  • Additional $3.00 shipping and handling (For mailed and faxed Applications)
  • Learn more about the Vital Fee Increase (PDF).

 State Vital Records Office.